Monthly Archives: August 2012

Whose participation? On framing Publics and the Public Sphere.

In science studies we often speak about publics and public engagement. Just this year, the journal Public Understanding of Science celebrates its 20 year anniversary. The according research field (PUS) has since then changed and today there is also a … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Whose participation? On framing Publics and the Public Sphere.

Framing the Publics

The last week I worked on writing down my framing of a concept of public(s) and public sphere(s). I wanted to upload this here until I flew off to Roskilde (acutally Copenhagen, and from there by train). Due to several … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Framing the Publics

Free software and participatory design

One of the sub-chapters in my thesis is termed “Free Software culture as an illustrative case ”. In fact it is illustrative not only of participatory approaches to software development but also of exclusions and omissions. So far, I have … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Free software and participatory design